period makeups: Brontë characters

Mrs Reed
Bertha Antoinetta Mason
Jane Eyre
Cathy Linton
Catherine Earnshaw

Period makeups: Brontë characters

The Brontës were a nineteenth-century literary family associated with the village of Haworth in Yorkshire, England. The sisters, Charlotte (1816–1855), Emily (1818–1848), and Anne (1820–1849), are well known as poets and novelists. Like many contemporary female writers, they originally published their poems and novels under male pseudonyms: Currer, Ellis, and Acton Bell. Their stories immediately attracted attention for their passion and originality.

Charlotte’s Jane Eyre was the first to know success, while Emily’s Wuthering Heights, Anne’s The Tenant of Wildfell Hall and other works were later to be accepted as masterpieces of literature. The three sisters and their brother, Branwell, were very close and during childhood developed their imaginations through the collaborative writing of increasingly complex stories. The effect of the deaths of first their mother, and then of their two older sisters marked them profoundly and influenced their writing. Their fame was due as much to their own tragic destinies as to their precociousness.

Since their early deaths they were subject of a following that continued to grow. Their home at Haworth is now the Brontë Parsonage Museum and has become a place of pilgrimage for hundreds of thousands of visitors each year.

Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights are the novels that have caught the movie-makers imagination.