Oscars for Makeup & Hairstyling

The Oscars

The first Oscar for makeup was awarded to John Chambers (for Planet of the Apes) in 1968 but they did not become a regular award until 1981.

Normally, Oscar nominations are voted for by members of the relevant branch and winners are voted for by all Academy members. However, because makeup does not have enough Academy members to form a branch its nominations have until recently been voted for by all craft members of the Academy. For the past couple of years nominations have been determined by makeup and hairstylist members only.

Nominees are normally limited to a maximum of two per movie, split between hair and makeup, which has over the years led to considerable unfairness (eg The Grinch where Kazuhiro Tsuji both sculpted the creation and applied the Grinch’s makeup every day but was not included in the nominations under the then existing rules). Recently the rules have changed to allow a third nomination based on either the general case where there are three separate areas of responsibility (eg Makeup, Special Makeup Effects, and Hairstyling), or to recognise a particularly significant individual contribution (eg The Grinch).

94th Annual Oscars

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has announced shortlisted movies the for the Makeup & Hairstyling award:
Coming 2 America
The Eyes of Tammy Faye
House of Gucci
Nightmare Alley
No Time to Die
The Suicide Squad
West Side Story.

Previous Oscars

2020–Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
Sergio López-Rivera, Mia Neal & Jamika Wilson

Kazuhiro Tsuji, Anne Morgan & Vivian Baker

Greg Cannom, Kate Biscoe & Patricia Dehaney.

2017–Darkest Hour
Kazuhiro Tsuji, David Malinowski & Lucy Sibbick.

2016–Suicide Squad
Alessandro Bertolazzi, Giorgio Gregorini & Christopher Nelson.

2015–Mad Max: Fury Road
Lesley Vanderwalt, Elka Wardega & Damian Martin.

2014–The Grand Budapest Hotel
Frances Hannon & Mark Coulier.

2013–Dallas Buyers Club
Adruitha Lee and Robin Mathews.

2012–Les Misérables
Lisa Westcott & Julie Dartnell.

2011–The Iron Lady
Mark Coulier & J Roy Helland.

2010– The Wolfman
Rick Baker and Dave Elsey.

2009–Star Trek
Barney Burman, Mindy Hall, & Joel Harlow

2008–The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
Greg Cannom.

2007–La Môme / La Vie en Rose
Didier Lavergne and Jan Archibald.
Christien Tinsley was awarded a Scientific and Technical Academy Award for his Tinsley Transfer technique.

2006–Pan’s Labyrinth
David Marti & Montse Ribé.

2005–The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
Howard Berger & Tami Lane.

2004–Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events
Valli O’Reilly & Bill Corso.

2003–The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King
Richard Taylor & Peter King.

John Jackson & Beatrice De Alba

2001–The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring
Peter Owen & Richard Taylor

2000–Dr. Seuss’ How the Grinch Stole Christmas
Rick Baker & Gail Ryan

Christine Blundell & Trefor Proud

Jenny Shircore

1997–Men in Black
David LeRoy Anderson & Rick Baker

1996–The Nutty Professor
David LeRoy Anderson & Rick Baker

Lois Burwell, Peter Frampton & Paul Pattison

1994–Ed Wood
Rick Baker, Ve Neill & Yolanda Toussieng

1993–Mrs. Doubtfire
Greg Cannom, Ve Neill & Yolanda Toussieng

1992–Bram Stoker’s Dracula
Michele Burke, Greg Cannom & Matthew Mungle

1991–Terminator 2: Judgment Day
Jeff Dawn & Stan Winston

1990–Dick Tracy
John Caglione Jnr & Doug Drexler

1989–Driving Miss Daisy
Lynn Barber, Kevin Haney & Manlio Rocchetti

Steve La Porte, Ve Neill & Robert Short

1987–Harry and the Hendersons
Rick Baker

1986–The Fly
Stephan Dupuis & Chris Walas

Zoltan Elek & Michael Westmore

Paul LeBlanc & Dick Smith

1983–No award

1982–Quest for Fire
Michele Burke & Sarah Monzani

1981–An American Werewolf in London
Rick Baker

1968–Planet of the Apes
John Chambers

1964–Seven Faces of Dr Lao
William Tuttle.